Extracted from History of Nicolett and LeSueur Counties, Minnesota, by Gresham, copyrighted 1916

Some Le Sueur County Firsts

Creation 5 May 1853 by Territorial Legislature
Settlers 1851 Rueben Butters, James Lindsey, and George Thompson
Dwelling Feb 1852 Rueben Butters, Kasota
Land Purchase Spring 1852 Henry and Patrick Cantwell, quarter section
Hotel 1853 George Risedorph
Saw & Grist Mill 1853 Antonie Young, Ottawa
Election Fall 1853 Le Sueur City, elected:  Thomas McDonagh, chairman; Julius A. Turrill and Maurice Wright; George Reisdorph, assessor; Patrick Cantwell, treasurer
Funeral Fall 1852 for Jake, a southerner, sermon delivered by Patrick Cantwell
Townships 5 Apr 1858 Formed

Main Page